Home > About > Governance > Board of Directors

SCFD Board of Directors

The SCFD Board of Directors is comprised of eleven members. Board members are chosen by county commissioners in each participating county (in Denver and Broomfield, each respective City Council selects the board member). In addition, four members are appointed by the governor. SCFD board members represent different segments of society, including business, education, government, and foundation management. The board reviews and oversees distribution of SCFD funds.


Dan Hopkins, SCFD BoardDan Hopkins: Board Chair, Arapahoe County appointee, former Deputy Chief of Staff and spokesperson for Governor Owens and CDOT.  Mr. Hopkins earned his bachelor’s degree in communications from the University of Denver. He joined the board in March 2012, and was previously appointed to the SCFD board by Governor Owens and served August 2006-July 2009.
Kathy Kucsan, SCFD BoardKathy Kucsan: Board Vice Chairman, Boulder County appointee, Principal, Integrity Arts, LLC. Earned Ph.D. and Masters in Music Education from University of Colorado Boulder and Bachelors Music Education Indiana University. She joined the board February 2010, 2nd term expires February 2016.
Hal Logan, SCFD BoardHarold R. Logan, Jr.: Board Treasurer, Governor’s appointee.  Director of Basic Materials and Services LLC, an investment firm.  Mr. Logan has extensive experience in finance, including investment banking/venture capital, and as senior financial officer and director of publicly owned companies.  He sits on boards of several for-profit and nonprofit organizations, including Denver Museum of Nature & Science and the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation, a supporter of numerous cultural organizations in Colorado.  Hal holds an MS/Finance from Columbia University and BS/Economics from Oklahoma State University.  He joined the board in January 2013.  1st term expires May 2015.
Robert Grant, SCFD BoardLynice (Lynn) Jeffers: Board Secretary, Broomfield County Appointee; Ms. Jeffers served for over eight years on the Broomfield Public Art Committee. As Chairperson, she oversaw the acquisition of 19 public artworks for Broomfield's collection, and helped establish two ongoing "Art for Awhile" programs. Nominated by Broomfield for the 2010 SCFD Rex Morgan Award, she has gained recognition as an arts advocate and community volunteer. A third generation Colorado native, Ms. Jeffers earned her B.S. degree from Colorado State University. She joined the board in March 2014, 1st term expires February 2017.
Damon O. Barry, SCFD BoardDamon O. Barry: Governor’s appointee, Managing Director, Barry Legal Consulting Services. Prior to founding Barry Legal Consulting Services, Mr. Barry was a Vice President of Business Affairs and Assistant General Counsel at CSG Systems International, Inc.  Mr. Barry earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Washington and law degree from the University of Nebraska College of Law. He joined the board October 2012, 1st term expires July 2015. 
Kathy J. ImelKathy J. Imel: Adams County appointee.  President, La Loba International, a management and technology consulting company, which she founded in 1996.  Ms. Imel served for seven years on the Adams County Cultural Council, six of them as Secretary.  She is an artist with pieces in public and private collections, and has served on the boards of various nonprofit organizations.  Ms. Imel has a B.S. degree from Pennsylvania State University and an M.S. degree from Colorado State University.  She joined the board in February 2015; her first term expires in January 2018.
Rob Johnson: Jefferson County appointee, co-owner Wilson/Johnson Creative graphic design firm and photography studio. Mr. Johnson is a Colorado native and graduate of the Art Institute of Colorado. His service on the Jefferson County Cultural County from 2007-2012 included several years as co-chair and chair. Mr. Johnson joined the board April 2, 2013, 1st term expires March 31, 2016.
Councilwoman Peggy Lehmann, SCFD BoardPeggy Lehmann: Denver County appointee, Denver City Councilwoman District 4.  Ms. Lehmann earned her bachelor’s degree from Connecticut College and master’s degree from Stanford University. She is a former school teacher and directed Denver Audubon Society’s outdoor education program, a Tier 3 organization. She also worked as coordinator of education programs for the Tier 1 organizations.  She joined the board July 2011, 1st term expires July 2014.
Shepard Nevel, SCFD BoardShepard Nevel: Governor’s appointee, Vice President for Policy & Evaluation, the Colorado Health Foundation. Mr. Nevel earned his bachelor’s degree from Brown University and J.D. from Columbia Law School. He also has written several plays, one of which was produced at the Colony Theater in Miami Beach, FL.  Mr. Nevel is board chair of Colorado Bright Beginnings, past board chair of KIPP Colorado Schools, and serves on the boards of the Colorado Association of Funders and Colorado League of Charter Schools.  He joined the SCFD board July 2009, 2nd term expires May 2015. 

Kathryn Spuhler, SCFD Board ChairKathryn Spuhler: Douglas County appointee, served for 10 years on Douglas County Cultural Council, last several years as chair; assisted county in developing its cultural plan. Ms. Spuhler earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Denver; educator in Cherry Creek and Adams County school districts; 14 years as ED of Young Audiences, Inc.; NPO Consultant Arts Organizations. She joined the board March 2010, 2nd term expires March 2016.

Elaine D. Torres: Governor’s appointee, Director of Community Affairs, CBS4. Ms. Torres earned a BA degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder and a Masters Degree in Applied Communication from the University of Denver. Prior to joining CBS4, Ms. Torres worked as the Public Affairs Coordinator for the Rocky Mountain News where she was responsible for charitable giving and community relations.  Ms Torres has served on numerous cultural, educational and human services advisory and nonprofit boards, including the Colorado Business Committee for the Arts, Denver Museum of Nature and Science and Denver Art Museum. Ms. Torres joined the board March 2013, 1st term expires May 2015.
Peg Long, SCFD Executive DirectorMarjorie (Peg) Long: Executive Director, B.A., J.D. degrees University of Colorado at Boulder, Masters in Nonprofit Management, Regis University, formerly in private practice of law; nonprofit management and public policy.


If you wish to contact any of the Board members either through mail or email please send information to Sheila Mieger - 899 Logan Street #500, Denver, CO 80203 or sheila@scfd.org. She will send your information on to the Board. SCFD does not distribute Board contact information.