Home > For Funded Orgs > Tier III > County Cultural Councils

Tier III - County Cultural Councils

The seven-county cultural councils are made up of volunteer appointees who manage the SCFD Tier III grant application process for their respective counties. Council members should adhere to the concepts of stewardship of public funds and seek to create a fair, ethical, respectful, open and objective evaluation process through which these public funds are distributed. Councils make funding recommendations to the county commissioners or city councils in their respective counties as to how SCFD Tier III funds should be allocated. Download a brief description. Their central activities may include:

  • Develop and revise county grant guidelines, criteria and assessment protocol.
  • Review grant applications and report forms and interview applicants for funding.
  • Develop funding recommendations to submit to the county commissioners or city council.
  • Refer eligibility and district policy questions to the SCFD office.
  • Participate in District-wide Grant Workshops to explain the application process and county guidelines to eligible applicants.
  • Evaluate the grant-making process and council procedures and implement improvements.

All county cultural council meetings are open to the public.

If you are a cultural council member, please click here to login to the Grant Application Review portal.

Adams County Cultural Council

Joyce Downing, Chair
Patricia Dwyer
Clarence Colburn
Carol M. Norberg
Jeff Lapin
Joseph Sanchez
Lynn Sites
Jessica Troy
Rachel A. Rice               

For more information, contact:
Gabriel Rod


County Manager's Office

4430 S. Adams County Parkway,
Brighton, CO 80601

Arapahoe County Cultural Council

Kirk Bateman, Chair
David Bondelevitch
Marilyn Cross
Megan Kennedy
Nancy Lindsey
Katherine McMurray
Carolyn Moershel
George Peck
Jeannette Shea
Onkarpreet Singh                


For more information, contact:
Carol Zsako
303.738.8040 x 7926
Arapahoe County
Community Resources Department
1690 W. Littleton Boulevard, Suite 300
Littleton, CO 80120 


Boulder County Cultural Council

Aleta Sherman, Chair
Kristin Aslan
Lawrence Kaptein
Fran Zankowski
Lisa Smith
Ryan Reeves
ML Robles
Maria Astudillo
Jackie Hobbins                          

For more information, contact:
Katie Arrington
Boulder County Courthouse
Commissioners Office, 3rd Floor
1325 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Boulder County Cultural Council 

Broomfield County Cultural Council

Pascale Fried, Chair
Suzanne Crawford
Huma Ebadi
Melissa Islam
Melodee Rodriguez
Daniel Rudmann
Ken Stroud
Qi Zhou                             

For more information, contact: 
Cheryl German 
Cultural Affairs Division 
3 Community Park Road
Broomfield, CO 80020
Broomfield County Cultural Council

Denver County Cultural Council

Will Chan, Chair
Jayne Buck
Steve Chavez
Sarabeth Berk
Amy Tancig-Andrle
Leah Horn
Beau Augustin
Rick Acosta
Jasmine Crane
Mariana Esteves
Rochelle Johnson                   

For more information, contact:
Tariana Navas-Nieves
Arts and Venues Denver
144 W. Colfax Avenue, Denver, CO 80202

Douglas County Cultural Council

Larry Perkins, Chair
Heidi Bowman
Ada Anderson
Paul Coughlin
Jack Christensen
Mary Ann Evans
Alexandra Harden                    

For more information, contact:
Kimberly Smith
Douglas County Administration Building
100 3rd Street, Castle Rock, CO 80104

Douglas County SCFD Boundaries Map

Jefferson County Cultural Council

Diane O'Grady, Chair
Barb Moritzky
Clarence Low
Leslie Klane
Gino Greco
Lisa M.W. Eldred
David Dadone
Bob McCarroll                          

For more information, contact:
Diane Keathley



Jefferson County Clerk to the Board 

100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2530
Golden, CO 80419-2560