Home > About > Rex Morgan Award > Past Award Recipients

Rex Morgan Awards Return in 2018

After a 5 year respite, SCFD is proud to announce the return of the Rex Morgan Awards!  Click here to learn more about any of the three expanded categories.  

Past Recipients of the Rex Morgan Award

2013 - Rita Flores de Wallace was honored for her volunterism sharing her expert knowleadge of mexican folklorico and dance.

2012 - Victoria Sterling has made a significant impact on the cultural community through her plethora of board service, including: Denver County Cultural Council, Young Audiences, Denver School of the Arts, Anti-Defamation League, Cherry Creek Arts Festival, Golden Triangle Association, Visit Denver, Civic Center Conservancy Board, Denver Art Museum, and RedLine.  (Mrs. Sterling's Acceptance Speech)

2011 - Suzanne J. Bodis former member of the Arapahoe County Cultural Council, Aurora Cultural Affairs Commission, Art in Public Places Commission and the Aurora Museum Foundation. (Mrs. Bodis' Acceptance Speech)

2010 - Floyd Ciruli was honored for his tremendous impact to the formation and continued success of the SCFD (Mr. Ciruli's acceptance speech)

2009 - Gully Stanford, for his passionate and legendary advocacy for the advancement of culture and arts education (Mr. Standford's acceptance speech)

2008 - Bob Greenlee, first Chairperson, SCFD Board of Directors

2007 - Maruca Salazar, former member of Denver County Cultural Council and a long standing advocate for Chicano artists

2006 - John E Hayes, former Chairman for the SCFD

2005 - Mike Moore, founding member and former Chairman of Jefferson County Cultural Council, founding member of Denver Friends of Folk Music and The Baroque Folk, former director of the Evergreen Arts Council, former trustee of the Colorado Children's Chorale

2004 - Rosalie Keith, former Adams County Cultural Council Member and Founder of Thornton Arts Science and Humanities Council Young Artists Festival

2003 - Edward P. Connors, Trustee, Denver Botanic Gardens

2002 - A. Barry and Arlene Hirschfeld, Trustees, Denver Art Museum

2001 - Harry T. Lewis, Trustee, Denver Museum of Nature and Science andChairman of Citizens for Arts to Zoo

2000 - Wilbur Flachman, Adams County Cultural Council Chairman

1999 - Jane Hansberry, former SCFD District Administrator

1998 - Nancy Parker, Trustee, Central City Opera