UI / Check UI / Close Bear / Coral bear-404 Bear / Blue Bear / Chartreuse Bear / Green Bear / Hero Bear / Lime Bear / Magenta Bear / Maroon Bear / Orange Bear / Yellow plus Bear / Blue Bear / Chartreuse Bear / Green Bear / Hero Bear / Lime Bear / Magenta Bear / Maroon Bear / Orange Bear / Yellow Hero hero-home-10 hero-home-11 hero-home-12 hero-home-13 hero-home-14 hero-home-15 hero-home-16 hero-home-17 hero-home-18 hero-home-19 hero-home-2 hero-home-20 hero-home-3 hero-home-4 hero-home-5 hero-home-6 hero-home-7 hero-home-8 hero-home-9 Bear / Hero Bear / Hero nobg Shape UI / Time Rectangle plus icon-date UI / Full-Part-Volunteer Copy EPS Icon icon-external Bear / eye icon-facebook Grid View Shape icon-link-external Fill-2 List View icon-paw icon-paw-down icon-pin Combined Shape icon-pin-pink Combined Shape Combined Shape Combined Shape Combined Shape Print icon-search icon-search-tribe_event icon-search-job icon-search-organization icon-search-page icon-search-post icon-search-tribe_event icon-twitter icon-type Group Folder LigatureCreative-Logo-FINAL-WhiteReverse SCFD Horizontal Logo Group sidebear sidebear-body sidebear-paws testi-bear-blue testi-bear-coral testi-bear-gold testi-bear-green testi-bear-green-emerald testi-bear-orange-red testi-bear-orange-tang testi-bear-pink

County Cultural Councils

What they do

Each SCFD partner county has a county cultural council made up of volunteers who live in that county and are appointed by the county’s board of county commissioners or city council. These councils make funding recommendations for how each county should allocate its annual SCFD funding. Council members review grant applications from organizations, evaluate those applications, and provide their decisions to the board of county commissioners or city council for review and approval. Council members should adhere to the concepts of stewardship of public funds and seek to create a fair, ethical, respectful, open, and objective evaluation process for all organizations. All county cultural council meetings are open to the public and organizations interested in applying for a grant are encouraged to attend and learn more about the council in their county.

Get links to each county’s guidelines and other resources to help you apply. Some counties provide scoring rubrics for organizations that apply. They provide helpful questions for organizations as they prepare for their applications and interviews

Members and Contacts

Adams County Cultural Council


Joyce Downing, Chair
Patricia Dwyer
Clarence Colburn
Carol M. Norberg
Jeff Lapin
Edward Hanson
Lynn Sites
Megan Hartline

For more information, contact:

Zoe Ocampo


Arapahoe County Cultural Council


Trina Campbell, Chair
Marilyn Cross, Vice Chair
Kelley Wardrope, Secretary
Carolyn Moershel, Assistant Secretary
Ashley Bassim
Kira Broer
Bobby Dedios
Peter Faris
Megan Kennedy
Katherine McMurray
George Peck
Catherine Pomeroy

For more information, contact:

Danielle Misegadis, Office Coordinator

Boulder County Cultural Council


Aleta Sherman, Chair
Lawrence Kaptein
Maria Astudillo
Jackie Hobbins
De La Vaca
Kelly DeBie
Mark Bresnan
Zac Barr
Anita Solick Oswald

For more information, contact:

Carol Garnand



Broomfield County Cultural Council

Pascale Fried, Co-chair
Melodee Rodriguez, Co-chair
Jasleen Batra
Min Cho
Julie Fuller
Jeanne McFarland-McDonald
Kenny Nguyen
Sara Skerpan

For more information, contact:

Cheryl German


Denver County Cultural Council


Will Chan, Chair
Jenna Crafton
Steve Chavez
Sarabeth Berk
Amy Tancig-Andrle
Leah Horn
Beau Augustin
Rick Acosta
Mariana Esteves
Rochelle Johnson

For more information, contact:

Tariana Navas-Nieves


Douglas County Cultural Council


Larry Perkins, Chair
Mary Ann Evans, Vice-Chair
James Smith, Secretary
Ada Anderson
Alexandra Harden
Cheryl Meyers-Saffold

Currently seeking 3 representatives:

  • 1 for District I
  • 2 for District II

Click here to apply.

Click here for a district map.

For more information, contact:

Kimberly Smith


Jefferson County Cultural Council


David Dadone, Chair
Andrea Gelfuso Goetz
Lisa M.W. Eldred
Ron Isaacson
Desiree Campbell
Dave Rein
Iris Gregg
Jennifer Shannon

For more information, contact:

Diane Keathley